20% Project

For my group’s 20% project, we have chosen to hold a dodge ball tournament.  With this dodge ball tournament we will have an entry fee of $1-5$ if you come to watch.  With all the money (if any), we will donate it to hospitals or other organizations to help out the kids that have cancer.

For my 20% project I am feeling very nervous, anxious, and stressed.  I’m feeling nervous because I don’t feel like our project will turn out well and I think that we will probably make many mistakes along the way while setting up this dodgeball tournament.  The reason that I am feeling anxious is because I’m always worrying about this project and it prevents me from getting most of my school work done.  Finally, the reason that I am stressed is because it is just more work on top of the regular work that we already have.

Some major goals that we have that we need to accomplish to make our project work is first, by the end of November, we will need to contact one of two schools and see when their gym is being used so we can setup the days that we will need to use the gym for the tournament.  Second, by the end of January, we will get volunteers to help us out for this project along with our mentor (which is the main person that will help us out during this project).  They will help us by being a coach, referee, and they will also help us get the supplies we need which include dodgeballs, certain colored T-shirts (to indicate who is on which team), and more.  Third, by the end of February, we will need to create promotional materials such as posters.  This will hopefully make people want to join because it is for a good cause.  Fourth, we will need to gather all of our supplies and volunteers to get ready before the tournament hits.  Finally, we will hold the tournament in April before GTA speeches (a big speech we give at the end of the year to present how well our 20% project did).  Those were all of our goals, but there might be more to come.

See my Visual Aide for more information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *